IAEA Meetings in 2014 »
Announcement Code: 46089 (CN-219)
Search IAEA Meetings:
Scientific Forum: Radioactive Waste: Meeting the Challenge — Science and Technology for Safe and Sustainable Solutions
Vienna, Austria
23 – 24 September 2014 Conference ID: 46089  (CN-219)
Tuesday, 23 September 2014
  Session 1
Session 1 will briefly describe the peaceful use of nuclear technologies, the radioactive waste that is generated and the organization of such wastes according to different classes. It will emphasize that managing such waste requires an integrated approach from generation to disposal, as well as appropriate funding. Safety, security and safeguards aspects must be considered during this journey.
  Mr Yukiya Amano
IAEA Director General
Opening Statement (Video)
IAEA film: Radioactive Waste: The Journey to Disposal Video
Mr Djarot Wisnubroto
Chairman, National Nuclear Energy Agency of Indonesia (BATAN), Indonesia
Download (PDF)
Mr Gerald Ouzounian
International Director, ANDRA, France
Download (PDF)
Allison M. Macfarlane
Chairman, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Download (PDF)
Mr William D. Magwood
Director General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), France
Download (PDF)
Mr Raoul Awad
Director General, Directorate of Security and Safeguards,
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), Canada
Download (PDF)
  Session 2
Session 2 will highlight the steps required to manage radioactive waste before its disposal. The focus will be on technologies and applications used to characterize and treat waste, and conditioning processes used to convert it into a form suitable for storage, transport and, ultimately, disposal.
  Mr Daiyong Song
Member of Chinese Delegation, China
Download (PDF)
Mr Jan Deckers
Business Development and Project Manager, Belgoprocess, Belgium
Download (PDF)
Mr Hiroshi Rindo
Adviser, Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA), Japan
Download (PDF)
Ms Daniela Elena Alvarez
Head of Department, Nuclear Regulatory Authority (ARN), Argentina
Download (PDF)
Mr James McKinney
Head of Integrated Waste Management,
Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA), United Kingdom
Download (PDF)
Mr Ewoud Verhoef
Deputy Director, Centrale Organisatie Voor Radioactief Afval (COVRA), Netherlands
Download (PDF)
Mr Evgeny Kudryavtsev
Head of the Department of Safety Regulation of Nuclear Fuel Cycle Facilities, Nuclear Propulsion Installations and Radiation Hazardous Facilities, Rostechnadzor, Russian Federation
Download (PDF)
Mr Carl-Magnus Larsson
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA), Australia
Download (PDF)
Wednesday, 24 September 2014

Session 3
Session 3 will illustrate disposal solutions for radioactive waste that must remain under regulatory control. Concepts for disposal being implemented or developed around the world will be outlined and the safety of disposal will be addressed.

  Mr Alvaro Rodriguez Beceiro
Director of Technical Division, Empresa Nacional De Residuos Radioactibos, S.A. (ENRESA), Spain
Download (PDF)
Mr Bálint Nos
Director of Strategy and Technology, Public Limited Company
for Radioactive Waste Management (PURAM), Hungary
Download (PDF)
Mr Chul-Hyung Kang
Executive Vice President, Korea Radioactive Waste Agency (KORAD), Republic of Korea
Download (PDF)
Mr Juhani Vira
Corporate Adviser, Posiva Oy, Finland
Download (PDF)
Mr Magnus Westerlind
Director Technology, Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste
Management Co. (SKB), Sweden
Download (PDF)
Mr Yoichi Miyamoto
Director, Geological Disposal Research and Development
Department, Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA), Japan
Download (PDF)
Mr Thilo von Berlepsch
Head of International Cooperation Department, DBE
Technology GmbH, Germany
Download (PDF)
  Session 4
Session 4 will focus on how evolving nuclear technologies, such as better use of nuclear fuel, innovative fuels, and advanced reactors and fuel cycles, could affect future waste management.
  Mr Piaray Kishan Wattal
Director of Nuclear Recycle Group, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), India
Download (PDF)
Mr Vyacheslav Pershukov
Deputy Director General, ROSATOM, Russian Federation
Download (PDF)
Mr Christophe Behar
Director of Nuclear Energy Division, Commissariat Energie Atomique (CEA), France
Download (PDF)
Mr James C. Marra
Advisory Engineer, Savannah River National Laboratory
(SRNL), United States
Download (PDF)
Mr Kjell Andersson
Managing Director, Karita Research, Sweden
Download (PDF)
  Closing Session  
  Mr Yukiya Amano
IAEA Director General
  Mr David G. Huizenga
President of the 5th Review Meeting of the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management, Department of Energy, United States
  Mr Massimo Garribba
Director for Nuclear Safety and Fuel Cycle of Directorate General for Energy of the European Commission (EC), Luxembourg
You are here:IAEA Meetings
International Atomic Energy Agency
Vienna International Centre, PO Box 100
A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telephone: (+431) 2600-0, Facsimile (+431) 2600-7
E-mail: Official Mail