Search IAEA Meetings:
Conference Website | Opening/Closing Remarks and Delegation Statements | Working Sessions Presentations The Fukushima Ministerial Conference on Nuclear Safety - Working Session Presentations
Sunday, 16 December 2012 | 10:00 – 13:00
Working Session 1

Lessons Learned from the Accident at TEPCO’s Fukushima Nuclear Power Stations
Chairperson: Mr M. Weightman, Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations,
Office for Nuclear Regulation, United Kingdom
Scientific Secretaries: Mr P. Hughes, Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, IAEA

Mr T. Bannai, Safety Regulation Coordinator for International Affairs
Secretariat of Nuclear Regulation Authority
Ministry of the Environment of Japan
10:00 Opening remarks by the Chairperson
10:10 – 10:50 Keynote addresses:
  Overview of lessons learned from the accident and measures to mitigate consequences and prevent an accident
Mr S. Tanaka, Chairman, Nuclear Regulation Authority, Japan
  Safety of the operation of nuclear installations and protection of NPSs from severe accidents and extreme natural hazards
Mr R. Meserve, Chairman, International Nuclear Safety Group (INSAG)
10:50 – 11:50 Panellist presentations:
  Mr P. Jamet, Chairperson, Stress Test Peer Review Board, European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG)
  Mr B. Borchardt, Executive Director for Operations, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, United States of America
  Mr L. Vinhas, Ambassador of Brazil to the IAEA
  Mr Y.W. Park, President, Korea Institute of Nuclear Safety, Republic of Korea
  Mr S. Duraisamy, Vice Chairperman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, India
  Mr V.S. Bezzubtsev, Deputy Chairman, Federal Environmental, Industrial and Nuclear Supervision Service of Russia (Rostechnadzor), Russian Federation
11:50 – 13:00 Discussions followed by Chairperson’s summary
Sunday, 16 December 2012 | 15:00 – 18:00
Working Session 2

Strengthening Nuclear Safety, including Emergency Preparedness and Response, in the light of the Accident at TEPCO’s Fukushima Nuclear Power Stations
Chairperson: Mr R. Jammal, Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Officer, Canada
Scientific Secretaries: Ms E. Buglova, Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, IAEA
  Mr H. Kobayashi, Senior Coordinator, International Nuclear Energy Cooperation Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan
15:00 Opening remarks by the Chairperson
15:10 – 15:50 Keynote addresses:
  Strengthening nuclear safety including through the implementation of the IAEA Action Plan
Mr D. Flory, Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, IAEA

Overview of strengthened IAEA Safety Standards

Mr A.-C. Lacoste, Member of Commission on Safety Standards (CSS) and the
President of the Sixth Review Meeting of the Convention on Nuclear
15:50 – 17:00 Panellist presentations:
  Mr L. Stricker, Chairperson, World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO)

Mr Z. Pan, Academician, China Academy of Engineering, China, China National Nuclear Cooperation (CNNC)

Mr J. Repussard, Director General, the French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France

Mr W. Travers, Director General, Federal Authority of Nuclear Regulation, United Arab Emirates

Mr K. Oshima, Commissioner, Nuclear Regulation Authority, Japan

Mr D.E. Sumargo, Director, Inspection of Nuclear Installation and Nuclear Material, Nuclear Energy Regulation Agency (Bapeten), Indonesia

Mr H. Wanner, Director General, the Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI), Switzerland
17:00 – 18:00 Discussions followed by Chairperson’s summary
Monday, 17 December 2012 | 09:00 – 12:00
Working Session 3

Protection of People and the Environment from Ionizing Radiation
Chairperson: Ms A. Dela Rosa, Director, Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI), The Philippines
Scientific Secretaries: Mr P. Vincze, Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA

Mr K. Sakai, Director, Research Center for Radiation Protection, National Institute of Radiological Sciences of Japan
09:00 Opening remarks by the Chairperson
09:10 – 09:50 Keynote addresses:
  Radiation protection and public communication on radioactivity

Mr C. Clement, Scientific Secretary, International Commission on Radiological
Protection (ICRP)

Mr J. Lochard, Member of the Main Commission of the ICRP

Remediation related activities and tasks related to Research and
Development on off-site activities

Mr J.C. Lentijo, Director, Division of Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Waste
Technology, Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA
09:50 – 11:00 Panellist presentations:
  Ms M. Neira, Director, Department of Public Health and the Environment, World Health Organization (WHO)

Mr W. Weiss, Chairperson, United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effect
of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR)

Mr J.M. Poirson, Senior Food Safety Officer, Emergency Prevention System, Food Safety Unit, Nutrition and Consumer Protection Division, Agriculture and Consumer Protection Department, Food Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Mr O. Phillips, Senior Manager, National Nuclear Regulator, South Africa

Mr M. Uchibori, Vice Governor, Fukushima Prefecture, Japan

Mr T. Konoe, President of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red
Crescent Societies (IFRC)

Mr V. Sucha, Deputy Director-General, Joint Research Center,
European Commission (EC)
11:00 – 12:00 Discussions followed by Chairperson’s summary
Chairperson Summaries for Working Sessions 1, 2 and 3
You are here:IAEA Meetings
International Atomic Energy Agency
Vienna International Centre, PO Box 100
A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Telephone: (+431) 2600-0, Facsimile (+431) 2600-7
E-mail: Official Mail