VISA APPLICATIONS

Should you require a visa for entering Austria please contact the nearest consular representative of Austria as early as possible.

Please note that Austria is a Schengen State and therefore persons who require a visa will have to apply for a "Schengen visa" at least 2-3 weeks before entry into Austria. In States where Austria has no diplomatic mission visas can be obtained from the consular authority of a Schengen Partner State representing Austria in the country in question. [At present the Schengen States are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.]

Only in exceptional cases is the Agency able to assist participants who encounter difficulties in obtaining a visa. In this regard all necessary information (date of birth, nationality, type of passport, passport number, issuance and validity of the passport, length of stay, arrival date, flight details and a short description of the problem encountered) should be sent to reach the Agency at the latest **two** weeks before the meeting. After that date the Agency will not be able to assist you due to Schengen regulations.

Please be aware that the validity of a Schengen visa cannot be extended once you are in a Schengen State.

Overleaf you will find the "List of consulates representing Austria in states where there are no Austrian diplomatic or consular missions".

LIST OF CONSULATES REPRESENTING AUSTRIA IN STATES WHERE THERE ARE NO AUSTRIAN DIPLOMATIC OR CONSULAR MISSIONS

1. Belgium

Burundi, Cameroon, Gabon, Rwanda, United Republic of Tanzania

2. France

Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, the Comoros, the Congo, Djibouti, Fiji, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Haiti, Laos, Lebanon, Mali, Mauritius, Monaco, Niger, Saint Lucia, Seychelles, Singapore, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zaire

3. Italy

San Marino

4. Netherlands

Bahamas, Mozambique, Suriname

5. Portugal

Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Macao, Sao Tome and Principe

6. Spain

Andorra, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Honduras, Jamaica, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay, United Arab Emirates

7. Federal Republic of Germany

Armenia, Belarus, Botswana, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Stan, Madagascar, Malawi, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Zambia