

Special Event at the 50th IAEA General Conference 2006

"New Framework for the Utilization of Nuclear Energy in the 21st Century: Assurances of Supply and Non-Proliferation"

Austria Center Vienna, Hall C, 19-21 September 2006

PROGRAMME

Special Event Chairman: Charles B. Curtis (President, Nuclear Threat Initiative)

Tuesday, 19 September 2006

10:00 - 13:00

OPENING

Mohamed ElBaradei (IAEA Director General)

Charles B. Curtis (Special Event Chairman)

KEYNOTES

International Nuclear Fuel Cycle Centres

Sergei Kirienko (Director, Russian Federal Nuclear Agency)

Global Nuclear Energy Partnership: Reliable Access to Nuclear Fuel and Technology

Samuel Bodman (Secretary of Energy, USA) statement to be delivered by *Dennis Spurgeon* (Assistant Secretary)

International Nuclear Fuel Cycle: Security of Supply

Anne Lauvergeon (Chairman of the Executive Board, AREVA)

IAEA Administered Nuclear Fuel Reserve

Sam Nunn (Chairman, Nuclear Threat Initiative)

Multilateral Approaches to the Nuclear Fuel Cycle: Energy Security and Non-Proliferation

Buyelwa Patience Sonjica (Minister of Minerals and Energy, South Africa)

Nuclear Energy: Issues and Choices

Javier Solana (High Representative of the Council of the European Union) statement to be delivered by Annalisa Giannella (Personal Representative on Non-Proliferation)

Re-envisioning Atoms for Peace

Susan Eisenhower (Senior Fellow & Chairman Emeritus, the Eisenhower Institute)

Chairman's Introduction: New Framework for Nuclear Energy

Charles B. Curtis (Special Event Chairman, President NTI)

SESSION 1: Current Proposals for Nuclear Energy Security

Chair: José Goldemberg (Secretary of State of Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Coordinator and Rapporteur: Alan McDonald (Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA)

- Multilateral Approaches to the Nuclear Fuel Cycle (*IAEA Expert Group Report*)
- International Nuclear Fuel Cycle Centres (Russian Federation)
- Mechanism for Reliable Access to Nuclear Fuel (France, Germany, Netherlands, Russian Federation, UK and USA)
- Security of Nuclear Fuel Supply Uranium Enrichment Services (*Uranium Enrichment Industry / World Nuclear Association*)
- IAEA Administered Nuclear Fuel Reserve (Nuclear Threat Initiative)
- Regional Approaches: Cooperation for Energy Security (IAEA Baltics Regional Study)

Speakers:

Bruno Pellaud (Chair, IAEA MNA Experts Group (Switzerland))

Sergey Ruchkin (Deputy Director, Dept. of Strategic Analysis, TENEX, Russia)

Jim Timbie (Senior Advisor, Office of the Under Secretary for Arms Control and

International Security, US State Department)

John Ritch (President, World Nuclear Association)

Laura Holgate (Vice President, Nuclear Threat Initiative, USA)

Arturas Dainius (Under Secretary, Ministry of Economy, Lithuania)

Graham Allison (Director, Belfer Center, Harvard University, USA)

Wednesday, 20 September 2006

09:30 - 13:00

09:30 - 12:30

SESSION 2. A: Frameworks for Assurances of Supply: Institutional Perspectives

Chair: Pat Upson (CEO, URENCO)

Coordinator and Rapporteur: Alan McDonald (Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA)

- Assessment of current proposals on assurances of nuclear fuel supply
- Assurances of fuel fabrication: technical and institutional issues
- Utility/buyer perspectives
- Perspectives of other States

Speakers:

Leonam dos Santos Guimarães (Assistant to the President, Eletronuclear, Brazil)

José Luiz González (President, ENUSA)

Will Tobey (National Nuclear Security Administration,

US Department of Energy)

Takuya Hattori (Executive Vice Chairman, Japan Atomic Industrial Forum)
Zhang Fubao (Deputy Director General, China Atomic Energy Authority)

Geza Pekarik (Technical Director, PAKS, Hungary)
George Assie (Senior Vice President, Cameco, Canada)

12:30 - 13:00

Special Address: Nuclear Energy and Non-Proliferation

Ruud Lubbers (Former Prime Minister of The Netherlands)

15:00 - 18:00

SESSION 2. B: Frameworks for Assurances of Supply: Technical and Legal Arrangements

Chair: Pat Upson (CEO, URENCO)

Coordinators and Rapporteurs: Wolfram Tonhauser (Office of Legal Affairs, IAEA) and Alan McDonald* (Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA)

- Technical issues related to nuclear fuel banks*
- Roles of the Agency
- National legal aspects

Speakers:

Yang Chang-Kook (immediate past President, Korea Nuclear Fuel Company, RoK)*
Per Brunzell (Senior Vice President, Westinghouse Electric Co., Sweden)*

Chaim Braun (Stanford University, USA)*

Johan Rautenbach (Director, Office of Legal Affairs, IAEA)

Norbert Pelzer (Rtrd. Academician, University of Goettingen, Germany)

SESSION 3. Findings, Conclusions and Future Directions

Chair: Charles B. Curtis

Coordinator and Rapporteur: Tariq Rauf (Office of External Relations and Policy Coordination, IAEA)

- Findings
- Conclusions
- Road map for future work

Panellists:

José Goldemberg (State Secretary of Sao Paolo, Brazil)

Pat Upson (CEO, Urenco)

Abdul Minty (IAEA Governor, South Africa)

Anil Kakodkar (Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, India)

John Simpson (Director MCIS, University of Southampton, United Kingdom)

Harald Mueller (Director, Peace Research Centre Frankfurt, Germany)
Shunsuke Kondo (Chairman, Japan Atomic Energy Commission)

Richard Stratford (Director, Office of Nuclear Energy, Safety and Security,

Department of State, USA)

Resource persons in the IAEA:

Vilmos Cserveny (Director, Office of External Relations and Policy Coordination)

Hans Forsström (Director, Nuclear Fuel Cycle & Waste Technology) Akira Omoto (Director, Nuclear Energy and Nuclear Power)

Johan Rautenbach (Director, Office of Legal Affairs)

Scientific Secretary:

Tariq Rauf (Head, Verification and Security Policy Coordination, EXPO, IAEA)