

国际原子能机构 International Atomic Energy Agency Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique Международное агентство по атомной энергии Organismo Internacional de Energía Atómica

Atoms For Peace

Wagramer Strasse 5, P.O. Box 100, A-1400 Wien, Austria Phone: (+43 1) 2600 • Fax: (+43 1) 26007 E-mail: Official.Mail@iaea.org • Internet: http://www.iaea.org

In reply please refer to: Dial directly to extension: (+431) 2600-21503

CPPNM/AC/5 8 July 2005

## CONFERENCE TO CONSIDER AND ADOPT PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE CONVENTION ON THE PHYSICAL PROTECTION OF NUCLEAR MATERIAL

Vienna, 4 to 8 July 2005

**FINAL ACT** 

## FINAL ACT

- 1. At the request of Austria and 24 co-sponsoring States, the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) circulated to all States Parties on 5 July 2004 proposed amendments to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material ("the Convention"). At the same time, the Director General requested confirmation as to whether he should, as depositary, call for a diplomatic conference to consider the proposed amendments. By 19 January 2005 the Director General had received requests to convene a conference to consider the proposed amendments from 55 States Parties, which represented the majority of States Parties to the Convention. Accordingly, pursuant to paragraph 1 of Article 20 of the Convention, on 3 February 2005 the Director General invited all States Parties to attend such a conference.
- 2. The Conference met in Vienna at the Headquarters of the IAEA from 4 to 8 July 2005.
- 3. Representatives of the following 88 States Parties and of one organization party to the Convention participated in the Conference: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Korea Republic of, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM).
- 4. Representatives of the following States and intergovernmental organizations participated in the Conference as observers: Cambodia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Syrian Arab Republic, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe, the United Nations, the IAEA and the League of Arab States.

- 5. The Conference was formally opened by Mr. David Waller, Acting Director General of the IAEA, who served as the Secretary-General of the Conference. Mr. Waller also addressed the Conference.
- 6. The Conference elected Mr. A. J. Baer (Switzerland) as President, and Mr. R. J. K. Stratford (United States of America), Ms. P. Espinosa-Cantellano (Mexico), Mr. P. Nieuwenhuys (Belgium), Mr. A. A. Matveev (Russian Federation), Ms. T. Feroukhi (Algeria), Mr. S. K. Sharma (India), Mr. T. A. Samodra Sriwidjaja (Indonesia) and Mr. Wu Hailong (China) as Vice-Presidents.
- 7. The Conference established a Committee of the Whole consisting of all States Parties, and one organization party to the Convention, that participated in the Conference. The Conference elected Mr. S. McIntosh (Australia) as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, and Mr. E. Gil (Spain) as Vice-Chairman.
- 8. The Conference established a Drafting Committee composed of representatives of the following States Parties: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, China, France, India, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America. The Conference elected Mr. K. Amégan (Canada) as Chairman of the Drafting Committee. Mr. N. Singh (India) was elected as Vice-Chairman by the Drafting Committee.
- 9. The Conference had before it as the basis for its discussions the following documents: the Basic Proposal (Document CPPNM/AC/L.1/1) and the proposal contained in Document CPPNM/AC/L.1/2. At its first meeting, the Conference decided to incorporate the latter proposal into the Basic Proposal to form a revised Basic Proposal (CPPNM/AC/L.1/1/Rev.1).
- 10. On the basis of its deliberations, the Conference adopted on 8 July 2005 the Amendment to the Convention, which is attached to this Final Act. The Amendment was adopted at the Conference by consensus and will be circulated by the depositary to all States Parties and EURATOM. The Amendment is subject to ratification, acceptance, or approval, and will enter into force, in accordance with paragraph 2 of Article 20 of the Convention.
- 11. The Conference decided to attach the Report of the Committee of the Whole without its attachments to this Final Act.

12. The Conference adopted this Final Act. The original of this Final Act, of which the Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish texts are equally authentic, is deposited with the Director General of the IAEA.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned have affixed their signatures to this Final Act.

DONE at Vienna this 8 July 2005.