IAEA Scientific Forum 2012

Food for the Future: Meeting the Challenges with Nuclear Applications

PROGRAMME

Tuesday, 18 September

10.00-12.00

Opening

Performance of the Men's Choir of the Russian National Research Nuclear University

Inaugural address by the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, Mr Yukiya Amano

Mr José Graziano da Silva, Director General, Food and Agriculture Organization (video message)

Mr Steven Chu, Secretary of Energy, United States of America

Ms Margaret Kamar, Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Kenya

Mr Nguyen Quan, Minister of Science and Technology, Vietnam

Mr Haryono, Director General for Agricultural Research, Ministry of Agriculture, Indonesia

12.00-14.30

Lunch Break

14.30-17.00

Food for the Future: Increasing Food Production

Ms Luz Gómez Pando, National Agrarian University La Molina, Peru

Mr J. Perry Gustafson, University of Missouri, United States of America

Mr Steven Chu, Secretary of Energy, United States of America

Mr Winfried E.H. Blum, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Austria

Mr Ren Wang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China

Mr Oswin Perera, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Mr Bob Orskov, International Feed Resources Institute, United Kingdom

18.00-20.00

Reception at the VIC restaurant

Wednesday, 19 September

10.00-12.30

Food for the Future: Ensuring Food Protection

Mr Martyn Jeggo, Animal Health Laboratory, Australia

Mr Modibo Traoré, Food and Agriculture Organization

Mr Kazuaki Miyagishima, World Organisation for Animal Health

Ms Miriam Kinyua, Moi University, Kenya

Mr Pedro Rendon, Guatemala-Mexico-USA Moscamed Cooperative Programme, Guatemala

Mr Kenneth Bloem, United States Department of Agriculture, United States of America

Mr Hassane Mahamat Hassane, African Union

12.30-14.30

Lunch Break

14.30-16.40

Food for the Future: Enhancing Food Safety

Mr Arun Kumar Sharma, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, India

Mr Craig Nessler, Texas A&M University, United States of America

Ms Karen Hulebak, Resolution Strategy, LLC, United States of America

Mr Frans Verstraete, European Commission

Ms Elizabeth Carazo Rojas, University of Costa Rica, Costa Rica

Mr Ezzeddine Boutrif, Consultant in food safety policy, Tunisia

Mr Chris Elliott, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom

16.40-17.00

Closing

Address by the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, Mr Yukiya Amano