

IAEA Ministerial Conference on Nuclear Safety

20–24 June 2011 Vienna, Austria

PROGRAMME

President of the

Conference: H.E. Mr Antonio Guerreiro, Resident Representative of Brazil to the IAEA

and Governor for Brazil on the IAEA's Board of Governors

Conference Venue: Plenary Sessions:

Austria Center Vienna

Hall D Level U2

Bruno-Kreisky-Platz 1

1220 Vienna

Tel.: +43-1- 260 69-0 Fax: +43-1-260 69-303 E-Mail: office@acv.at

Working Sessions 1, 2 and 3:

Vienna International Centre: Board Room A, M building IAEA

Wagramer Strasse 5 1400 Vienna

Tel.: +43 1 2600 0 Fax: +43 1 2600 7

E-mail: official.mail@iaea.org

The working languages of the Conference will be Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish, and statements made in any one of these languages during the meetings of the Conference will be interpreted simultaneously into the others. In order to assist the interpreters, delegates are kindly asked to provide the Conference Secretariat with a written text of their statements in advance.

Sunday, 19 June 2011

15:00 -19:00 Registration of delegates, Austria Center Vienna (ACV), Main Entrance

Monday, 20 June 2011

08.00 Registration of delegates, Austria Center Vienna (ACV), Main Entrance

10.00 - 13.00 Plenary Session: Hall D, ACV

Opening addresses:

Mr Antonio Guerreiro, Conference President

Mr Yukiya Amano, Director General, IAEA

Mr Sergio Duarte, High Representative for Disarmament: Message from the Secretary-General of the United Nations

followed by

Statements by Ministers/Heads of Delegations

13.00 - 15.00 Lunch break

15.00 -18:30 Plenary Session (continued): Hall D, ACV

Adoption of the Ministerial Declaration at the end of the Plenary Session, 20 June 2011.

Monday, 20 June 2011

Working Session 1: Board Room A, M Building, VIC

Preliminary Assessment of the Accident at TEPCO's Fukushima Nuclear

Power Stations (NPSs) and Actions for

Safety Improvements

Chairperson: M. Weightman, Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations,

Office for Nuclear Regulation, United Kingdom

Scientific Secretary: P. Vincze, Nuclear Power Engineering Section,

Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA

15:00–18:00 Preliminary Expert Assessment of the Accident at TEPCO's Fukushima

Nuclear Power Stations (NPSs)

15:00 Opening remarks by the Chairperson

15:10 – 15:30 K. Hirose, Special Advisor to the Cabinet Office and Former Director-General of

the Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency, Japan

15:30 – 15:50 M. Weightman, Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations,

Office for Nuclear Regulation, United Kingdom

15:50 – 18:00 Panel 1:

S. LEE, Executive Director, Division of Policy and Planning, Korea Institute of Nuclear Safety (KINS), Republic of Korea S.S. Bajaj, Chairperson, Atomic Energy Regulatory Authority, India

J. Lyons, Director, Division of Nuclear Installation Safety, IAEA

16.15 – 18.00 Discussion followed by Chairperson's summary

19:00 – 20:30 Joint reception, M Building, Ground Floor

Hosted by the IAEA Director General and the Conference President

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

10:00 - 18:00	Plenary Session (cont'd): Hall D, ACV
	Statements by Ministers/Heads of Delegations
10:00	Working Session 1 (cont'd): Board Room A, M Building, VIC
10:00 – 13:00	Future Actions for Continuous Improvements of Nuclear Installations Safety
10:00 – 10:20	L. Stricker, Chairperson, World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO)
10:20 – 10:40	J.B. Ritch, Director General, World Nuclear Association (WNA)
10:45 – 13:00	Panel 2:
	G. Jaczko, Chairperson, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, USA N.I.S. Kutin, Federal Environmental, Industrial and Nuclear Supervision Service of Russian (Rostechnadzor) F.P. Weiss, ESTON representative, European TSO Network (ETSON)
11:10 – 13:00	Discussion followed by Chairperson's summary
13:00 - 15:00	Lunch break
15:00 - 18:00	Plenary Session (cont'd): Hall D, ACV
	Statements by Ministers/Heads of Delegations

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

15:00	Working Session 2: Board Room A, M Building, VIC Emergency Preparedness and Response
Chairperson: Scientific Secretary:	A. Dela Rosa, Director, Philippine Nuclear Research Institute E. Buglova, Acting Head, Incident and Emergency Centre, Department of Nuclear Safety & Security, IAEA
15:00 -18:00	The Initial Response to the Accident at TEPCO'S Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Stations (NPSs)
15:00	Opening remarks by the Chairperson
15:10 – 15.30	Q. Liang, Director, Joint FAO/IAEA Division of Nuclear Techniques in Food and Agriculture
15:30 – 15:50	M. Neira, Director, Department of Public Health and the Environment, World Health Organization (WHO)
15:50 – 18:00	Panel 1
	 J.C. Lentijo, General Director for Radiation Protection, Nuclear Safety Council, Spain D. Sumargo, Head of Subdirectorate of Nuclear Energy Preparedness, Nuclear Energy Regulatory Agency (BAPETEN), Indonesia J Eibenshutz, Director General, National Commission of Nuclear Security and Safeguards (CNSNS), Mexico
16:15 – 18:00	Discussion followed by Chairperson's summary

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

10:00 – 13:00	(Possible) Plenary Session Plenary may meet if the speakers' list has not been completed
10:00	Working Session 2 (cont'd): Board Room A, M Building, VIC
10:00 – 13:00	Lessons Identified/Learned in Response to the Accident at TEPCO's Fukushima Nuclear Power Stations (NPSs): The Way Forward
10:00 – 10:20	E. Buglova, Acting Head, Incident and Emergency Centre, Department of Nuclear Safety & Security, IAEA
10:20 – 10:45	G. Love, Director, Department for the Weather and Disaster Risk Reduction Services, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
10:45 - 13:00	Panel 2:
	K. Hirose, Special Advisor to the Cabinet Office and Former Director-General of the Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency, Japan S. Itimad, Director of Safety and Security, National Center for Energy Sciences and Nuclear Techniques (CNESTEN), Morocco
	J. Salas, Executive Director, Nuclear Energy Commission, Chile
11:10 - 13:00	Discussion followed by Chairperson's summary
13:00 – 15:00	Lunch break
15:00	Working Session 3: Board Room A, M Building, VIC The Global Nuclear Safety Framework
Chairperson: Scientific Secretary:	R. Meserve, Chairperson, International Nuclear Safety Group (INSAG) G. Caruso, Division of Nuclear Installation Safety, Department of Nuclear Safety & Security, IAEA
15:00	Opening remarks by the Chairperson
15:00 – 18:00	Review of the Existing Framework of International Arrangements
15:10 – 15:30	AC. Lacoste, President, Nuclear Safety Authority, France
15:30 – 15:50	L. Echávarri, Director General, OECD/NEA
15:50 – 18:00	Panel 1:
	R. Jammal, Executive Vice President and Chief Regulatory Officer, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, Canada B. Mackeson Mkhize, Chief Executive Officer, National Nuclear Regulator,

South Africa

Thursday, 23 June 2011

10.00 – 13.00	Working Session 3 (cont'd): Board Room A, M Building, VIC Possible Ways for Strengthening the Global Nuclear Safety Framework
10.00 – 10:20	R. Meserve, Chairperson, International Nuclear Safety Group (INSAG)
10.20 - 10:40	J. Laaksonen, Chairperson, Western European Nuclear Regulators' Association
10.45 – 13:00	Panel 2: N. Pelzer, Honorary President of the International Nuclear Law Association (INLA) O. Mykolaichuk, Chairperson, State Nuclear Regulatory Committee, Ukraine
11.10 – 13.00	P. Jamet, Commissioner, Nuclear Safety Authority, France Discussion followed by the Chairperson's summary
13.00 - 15.00	Lunch break
13.00 - 13.00	Lunch break
Afternoon:	Preparation of the Working Sessions' Summaries

Friday, 24 June 2011

10.00-12.00 Plenary Session

- Presentation of the summaries of the Working Sessions by the Chairpersons
- Closing Statement by the Director General
- Closing remarks by the President of the Conference

2011-06-17